Rep. Niemerg Opposed to “All-Gender, Multiple-Occupancy” Restrooms in Illinois

State Representative Adam Niemerg (R-Dieterich) is opposed to legislation filed to allow public restrooms in Illinois be designated for “all-genders, multiple occupancy” facilities specifically as it applies to schools. House Bill 1286, if it becomes law would require certain newly constructed and previously existing restrooms be designated for use by any person of any gender or perceived gender.

 “If Illinois is not the most woke state in the union we are certainly on that path,” declared Rep. Niemerg. “This is not the same as the ‘family’ restrooms you see when traveling that are provided for moms and dads who have children they need to help or diapers they need to change that allow multiple family members be able to use the same restroom. And, it is not about restrooms that are constructed with special facilities to accommodate seniors or veterans who need handicapped accessible equipment. This is an attempt to allow boys wearing a dress who say they are now a girl into the same facilities with children who don’t understand the political indoctrination that is being foisted upon them and putting them at risk.”

This bill, opposed by groups like Pro-Family Alliance, would also require the Illinois Department of Public Health to inspect and allow building inspectors to determine if these restrooms meet their specifications.

The bill also states that any inspection of a facility by a health officer, health inspector, or building inspector may inspect the facility to determine whether it complies with the new requirements. The bill would also require the Department of Public Health to adopt rules to implement the provisions.

“This legislation would push the political idea of ‘liberally construed … gender inclusivity’ of all Illinois residents and visitors,” added Rep. Niemerg.  

The new 102nd District includes all or portions of Champaign, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Jasper, Lawrence, and Vermilion Counties.