Rep. Niemerg Honors the Fallen at 39th Annual Illinois Police Officer’s Memorial at Capitol

Yesterday we gathered on the grounds of the State Capitol 39th Annual Illinois Police Officer’s Memorial. Legislators and many from the Springfield community came together to honor the brave men and women who made the ultimate sacrifice in order to protect our communities. During the memorial, six fallen police officers were honored for their bravery in the line of duty.

The Six Fallen Police Officers Honored

Officer Andres Mauricio Vasquez Lasso–  Chicago Police Department

Officer Aréanah Makayla Preston– Chicago Police Department

Officer John Francis Kane– Cicero Police Department

Sheriff Ray Boston– Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office

Deputy Sheriff Andrew H. Sloan– Sangamon County Sheriff’s Office

Detective Todd C. Gillerlain– Chicago Police Department

The ceremony included the reading of The Survivors Prayer, a gun salute, and playing Amazing Grace and Taps. The victim’s families were present and received plaques and casings. This was a special day, not just for us to show our support to law enforcement, but to honor the families who were affected by the fallen police officers.

Our law enforcement officers are the backbone to public safety and every day they put their own lives on the line to protect the citizens of Illinois. I wish we didn’t have the need to conduct this ceremony, but this is important for our State and I was honored to be a part of it.